Photo taken by BKS Photography
|Yoakum's Ruins of Brushy Creek Church are over one hundred years old and stands near St. Joseph's Cemetery on FM 318. The church, originally dedicated St. Joseph's Church, later became known as Brushy Creek Church. The cornerstone was laid in 1869 and it was consecrated in May 1876. It is the oldest structure in the Yoakum community and is regarded as a fascinating sight for locals and visitors alike. In 1932, the Church was destroyed by fire except the masonry work, which would not burn.
|Built in the early 1900s by the J.K Elkins family, this antebellum home continued as the residence for the Elkin's family until 1986 when Mary Bell Browning formally deeded the family home to the community. The museum is a beautiful example of Victorian architecture, featuring the original stained and beveled glass windows and ornate staircase along with other unique features. Serving the community as a remembrance of its history and roots, the museum contains history, culture and artifacts of Yoakum and the San Antonio and Aransas Pass 铁路s. Ongoing exhibits include the 皮革 Room, the Military Room and the Train Room. The 皮革 Room features a photographic history of the leather industry in Yoakum with exquisite, hand-tooled saddles on display. The Military Room houses historic artifacts from the civil War through the Vietnam War. Displays include souvenirs from local residents who served our country. The Train Room tells the history of Yoakum's railways with artifacts from the early railroad days on display. In addition to ongoing exhibits, the Museum hosts several special exhibits throughout the year. The regular museum hours are Sunday, 周二, and Thursday from 1 pm - 4 pm and Friday from 10 am - 4 pm.
|Located at 405 East Hugo Street. A wooden structure built in 1890 is the oldest church in Yoakum. The church has been virtually unchanged for over 100 years. The interior is decorated with stained wooden paneling and stained glass windows. The pews in the sanctuary were shipped by Mallory Lines from New York City to the port of Galveston. Then they were shipped to Yoakum via S.A. & A. P. 铁路. The church is still used today as a house of worship.
|Located at the corner of West Gonzales and Highway 77A this memorial captures the spirit of the old trail drives with a memorial dedicated to the Chisholm Trail. The Chisholm Trail extended from South Texas to parts of the northern U.S. Following the Civil War, Texas was bankrupt and in despair. Beef was in big demand in the northern states so between 1867 and 1887, thousands of wild longhorn cattle were driven from South Texas to the cattle markets in the North. The longhorns became known as "Texas Gold" and were essential to the economic recovery of the state. 今天, Yoakum honors the cattle drivers' journey with the Chisholm Trail Memorial Park, adorned with beautiful, larger-than-life topiaries, depicting a typical day in the life on the Chisholm Trail. Native plants and lush trees make it a perfect spot for a short stroll or picnic. These topiaries and surrounding park was made possible through the generosity of the following: Circle Y of Yoakum, Cooper Chevrolet, Double D Ranch, First State Bank, H.E.B., Helping Hands and Hearts of Yoakum, 夫人. 威廉H. Kuester, Don & Velma Rice, River Oaks Plant House, Inc., Tandy Brands Accessories, Inc., Tex Tan Western, Dr. & 夫人. David H. Watson and Yoakum National Bank.
It's the birthplace of Texas Independence and the starting point of the Chisholm Trail... Learn more about the riches waiting for you in our South Texas region by visiting Yoakum today!